1989 Silverado R-134 poor performance

Moderators: Nacho, Tom Greenleaf, ACProf, acsource

1989 Silverado R-134 poor performance

Postby 89Silver » Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:29 am

The vehicle is a 1989 standard cab Silverado with the 5.7L engine. About 7 months ago the compressor seized on it so I had to take it in. I took it to an A/C shop that I had been using for many years that was keeping it going as an R-12 system. This time they wanted to convert it to R134a since the compressor was shot and they were going to change out other components to get rid of debris (and their R12 price had really shot up). So it was converted and just about everything except the evaporator was now new. I'm not really sure how well it was working after that since it was still cool here (and my daughter was driving the truck). A couple of months went by and the evaporator decided to blow and puked dye out the drain hole. Insert more cash for parts, lots of labor and another recharge.

I was never satisfied with the air after the evaporator change (I didn't have a good feel for the R134 conversion to begin with since it was much cooler at the time). I didn't really get any satisfaction out of the shop as far as the mediocre vent temps. They stated that the pressures were fine and they didn't find anything wrong with any of the door controls. I got the typical line about these conversions not always working as well but I don't buy that they are this bad. I'm pretty much done with then now. They don't seem to be the same since the older guy retired who had given me great service in the past.

The truck was taken to another shop to get a second opinion. The guy there found the pressures to be fine and didn't find anything wrong with any of the doors or the duct work. He tried things such as pinching off the heater hoses, misting the condenser and etc but no real solutions.