92 chevy k1500 a/c conversion

Moderators: Nacho, Tom Greenleaf, ACProf, acsource

92 chevy k1500 a/c conversion

Postby stenny » Sun Jun 05, 2016 4:16 am

i am trying to convert my truck that is r12 to convert it to r134. i have never done this before so any help would be great. i already have the fittings and everything.
stenny

Favorite Refrigerant: r134

Re: 92 chevy k1500 a/c conversion

Postby Tom Greenleaf » Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:30 pm

Welcome stenny:

First off best to know what was the reason for loss or refrigerant as it was before considering this and was that all fixed. You said you have all needed for retrofit - parts, adaptors and so on.

Rubber products if original is IMO your choice now to save it they look real good and didn't leak. They are non Barrier hose but should be so saturated with oils now can hold the smaller molecule which makes up 134a.

Now the problems of exact charge and oil you have to pay attention to. I'll provide a very helpful link for charging procedures with a known system about ready to charge up and some things known to help first:

When, ready for charging and oil is thought correct either Ester based which is compatible in part with PAG oils or a total flush out and use PAG oil only. For GM suggest PAG 150 for this truck. That or drain out as much oil as you can and go Ester. Since you wont get all out do not add as much oil as the total system listed capacity which was 8oz. OK to be a couple oz over IMO but really can't know with a vehicle this old unless there's an exact history of work all along since new.

Important to know if you have the original condenser or not. Reason is its tougher but less efficient for 134a. Your call - I stayed with the originals as they were stronger physically. Any replacement no doubt was more efficient and lowered listed charge capacity. Hopefully something is written for any changes. OE charge of R-12 was about 44 oz. Charts can be wrong go by info under hood first always.